Distinguished Service Award

    Call for Distinguished Service Award Nominees

    The Committee on Awards has issued a call for nominations for the Distinguished Service Award for presentation at the SAMBA 33rd Annual Meeting from May 3-5, 2017 at the JW Marriott Marquis Miami in Miami, Florida. 

    The SAMBA Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual for outstanding achievement in ambulatory anesthesia and is the highest honor which the Society can bestow. Members are invited to submit nominations for the award.

    Nominations must include a letter, a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae and no more than four letters of support of the nomination. Nominations should be sent to info@sambahq.org by Friday, October 13, 2017 at 5:00 pm ET.

                                Previous Distinguished Service Award Winners

    Marie-Louise Levy, M.D. – 1994

    Bernard V. Wetchler, M.D.* – 1995

    Stanley Bresticker, M.D.* – 1996

    Harry C. Wong, M.D. – 1997

    Burton S. Epstein, M.D. – 1998

    Surinder K. Kallar, M.D. – 1999

    Wallace A. Reed, M.D. – 2000

    Paul F. White, M.D., Ph.D. – 2001

    Herbert D. Weintraub, M.D.* – 2002

    Raafat S. Hannallah, M.D. – 2003

    Beverly K. Philip, M.D. – 2004

    Rebecca S. Twersky, M.D. – 2005

    Ervin Moss, M.D. – 2006

    Gary W. Hoormann (Career Achievement Award) – 2007

    Jeffrey L. Apfelbaum, M.D. – 2008

    Frances Chung, M.D. – 2009

    Lucinda L. Everett, M.D. – 2010

    Barbara S. Gold, M.D. – 2011

    Kari Korttila, M.D., Ph.D., FRCA 2012

    Kathryn E. McGoldrick, M.D., FCAI – 2013

    Paulo Lemos, M.D. – 2014

    Peter Glass, M.B. – 2015

    Walter Mauer, MD  2016